Posted by: sanjayshetty | September 9, 2009

Interesting Reads

I’ve started reading or re-reading(the last time I picked it up I just couldn’t finish it) Benjamin Graham and David Dodd’s Security Analysis: Sixth Edition, Foreword by Warren Buffett (Security Analysis Prior Editions) , which I’d recommend to all. It’s updated with new commentary by great current value investors such as Seth Klarman, James Grant, Bruce Greenwald and others. I had an earlier copy of the book, however, I must say, the additional commentary by these great investors really helped me understand so much more. It’s a true gem which every value investor must have.

Columbia Business Schools, The Heilbrunn Center for Graham & Dodd Investing has some interesting videos delivered by value investing professionals who have contributed their time to share their insights with Columbia Business School students http://www4.gsb.columbia.edu/valueinvesting/schlossarchives/class_recordings

The next two links are basically interviews, and both very good…

While different investors arrive at intrinsic value using different methods, they are all searching for the same thing:  businesses selling well below their estimate of intrinsic value. You can read the Graham and Doddsville interview here. For more on Bruce Berkowitz, see his interview in the recent issue of Outstanding Investor Digest here. (This one is especially long and quite interesting).

The last one I read recently was Balance Sheet Analysis: Cash which is posted at the Distressed Debt Investing blog.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did.

Responses

  1. Great Article. Graham is considered the first proponent of Value Investing, and I am a great fan of Benjamin Graham myself, I follow most of his rules, I started a site on value investing. I really appreciate the effort you have put in your blog. Best Wishes.

  2. hi sir,
    i want to get into equity analyst or venture capitalist field. can u guide some course related to them either on-line or part time


Leave a Reply

Categories

