Posted by: sanjayshetty | August 3, 2004

Great investments don’t grow on trees

I’ve been hunting… the rich dad way…

and his words ring truer with each investment opportunity I explore.

Great investments certainly don’t grow on trees. It takes time, I’ve been hunting now for the past 2 months or so. Most investments when thoroughly analyzed are so bad, you wonder whether the people selling you those have no conscience.

Rich Dad’s words “it’s not the investment which is good or bad it’s the investor” also ring in my ears, teaching me paitence. If great investments were so easy the mass of the population would surely not be in the rat race.

Currently I’m learning more about 2 areas:

  • Real Estate
  • Stocks

It’s amazing how much education one is lacking. It never hurts to learn more about both these areas.

Some days ago I finally created a real estate evaluator for myself. It’s an Excel sheet where I need to put in the numbers such as the asking price, the discounting, the stamp duty, registeration costs, the loan amount etc. The receivables in terms of rents, the EMI payable on the loan the society charges payable monthly etc. Based on these and some other parameters I can calculate the actual investment to be made and returns/gains from the property investment. I’d be happy to share and discuss this with people reading this blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

